Legal Status

The South African Independent Power Producers Association is a not for profit common law association based in Johannesburg South Africa.


The association shall promote the industry interests of independent power producers in Southern Africa, with due regard for the prescripts and limitations imposed by the Competition Act.

Management Committee

Thomas Garner
Dave Long Secretary General
Thembani Marhanele Member
Andrew J Carr Member
Etienne Rubbbers Member
Yousuf Haffejee Member
Ian Langridge Member
Brian Day Member
Heather Griffiths Member
Jean Venter Corporate Secretary

The management committee consists of ten members elected by-annually by the membership.


The founding document of the association is a constitution that was adopted on 30 August 2010 by the interim management committee as, mandated by a meeting of stakeholders held in July 2010.


Download the Constitution